Open House Chicago

A couple of weeks ago I got the chance to volunteer for Open House Chicago, this was unlike any volunteering I’ve done before. Most of the volunteer work that I have participated in, in the past, has been geared towards the suburbs and people within the suburbs like students, teachers, and my community. This was the first time I participated in something that served the whole city of Chicago. Open House Chicago is an annual architecture festival planned by the Chicago Architecture Foundation where they open up hundreds of breathtaking architectural treasures for the public to view. By attending, individuals receive special tours or looks at buildings that are either rarely or never open to the public.

Although my hours of volunteering consisted of taking tour groups up 40 floors every couple of minutes, the view was breathtaking. When I wasn’t volunteering, I was able to make use of my VIP pass to skip lines for other buildings and simply explore Chicago through its rich architecture.

I’ve always loved Chicago’s skyline and appreciated it from afar, but never payed attention to the individual parts that made it what it is. I have now finally been able to appreciate it from within. My favorite building from the one’s I visited would definitely be the Tribune Tower. It not only has a very detailed design, but it has history literally built into it. If you walk around the building, you will notice that there are bricks and fragments of other buildings from around the world from historic events built into it.

View from the McCormick Bridgehouse
View from the McCormick Bridgehouse
Inside of the Tribune
Inside of the Tribune
Looking down from the Optima rooftop
Looking down from the Optima rooftop

Author: Sarah A.

Just an American-Pakistani-Muslim girl trying to break stereotypes and glass ceilings one cross off the to-do list at a time.

Leave a comment