It’s a little past one, and everything looks pixelated

Do you ever get really into something and look up to realize it’s the middle of the night? I swear it only feels like a couple minutes have passed, but apparently it has been hours. I’m bursting of excitement, but fear my squealing may wake up the fam.

Now why am I bursting of excitement the week of multiple exams and projects? Well, because while reviewing for a Computer Science exam I realized I absolutely love what I’m learning! Many claim it’s extremely basic and thus boring, but I’m still fascinated. I’m someone whose favorite app is Instagram, and I happen to be learning all about picture modifications. Do you have any idea how awesome it is knowing why and how the filter “willow” does what it does? Can you imagine how awesome it is to essentially make your own filter for a picture?

I had never realized that these little pixels and coordinates of pictures were involved in picture modification. I also never drew a parallel between the primary colors learned in physics with those in computers. Turns out, primary colors are red, blue, and green. Sorry yellow, no place for you in the computer world. What’s amazing about pixels is that you can do so much with them. You don’t necessarily have to change the color of the whole image when working with pixels, you can use them to sharpen images, and even to crop images.

There’s so much more I can gush about, but I’ll just end this with a picture modified by some code I wrote.

Post Filter Photo
Post Filter Photo
The original
The original

Author: Sarah A.

Just an American-Pakistani-Muslim girl trying to break stereotypes and glass ceilings one cross off the to-do list at a time.

Leave a comment